Finding Beauty in Motherhood

“Surely mercy and goodness will follow me all the days of my life and I shall dwell in the house of the Lord forever….”

Yesterday was one of those days…..because I was trying to throw one too many things into the mix. I thought,”I’ll just keep the kids busy with their school work with one half of my brain and with the other I’ll list some stuff on Ebay.”

Right! My dear children could not seem to focus unless I was focused on them. Every time I turned my attention to them they were not busily working on their math. Plus I was trying to keep the little girls from eating us out of house and home, plus making a birthday cake and keeping the house somewhat orderly for an art class that we’ve been hosting on Wednesday afternoons. Finally I gave up in frustration. Then I scorched and ruined a whole four quart pot of chili, I was really looking forward to eating it too! Then Blue-eyes didn’t get home until 7:30. Right at the time my three year old daughter pooped in her underwear.

My flesh was rearing it’s ugly head. I felt seriously like railing accusations at my husband (who knows why, except that at that moment it felt like all my woes were caused by him coming home late) instead I calmly, through clenched teethe told him I didn’t know of any other husband who worked so much and a couple other things. I went to bed feeling like a looser mom and an ungrateful wife.

Joy comes in the morning though. Before Blue-eyes went to work this morning he gave me lots of kisses and promised to be praying for me today. Good ole’ blue-eyes! What would I do without him?

Usually when I start to feel like this I know I need to gather my chicks under my wings and go outside, somewhere beautiful, just them and me and God. Somewhere where I can breathe deep, have the sky above me. My old stand by is the forest. Any other day it can be called the woods but on these days it is the forest.

The smell of pine trees, moss, the earth, calms my nerves and gives me peace. Today I needed this and I wanted to share with you the beauty that I found. I found beauty in motherhood like I always do when I take the time to look.

I’m sure there will be lilacs in heaven. After spending the day surrounded by such beauty our spirits are tempered with grace. Add some Tintin books and art supplies from a garage sale along the way home and we have a quiet, peaceful afternoon and I can work on my blog!

The Hulda Klager Lilac Gardens in Woodland Washington

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

7 thoughts on “Finding Beauty in Motherhood

  1. Beautiful. Everything! The pictures, the people the gardens. I wenr there once, years ago with Gramma and my sisters!

    • We always think of you, Mom! I always think of the giant lilac bush that we played under as little girls…….how dreamy! Hopefully some time you’ll be visiting here at the right time so we can bring you with us!

  2. It does my heart good to see your girls in their dresses and bare feet. Thank you so much – I actually feel quite overcome.

    Isaiah 25:1

    King James Version (KJV)

    25 O Lord, Thou art my God; I will exalt Thee, I will praise Thy name; for Thou hast done wonderful things; Thy counsels of old are faithfulness and truth. Amen and amen.

    • Oh, yes, my husband grew up in the mid west so we understand about the farmers! Mine is in construction so he is all over the place and sometimes it doesn’t make sense to drive back to a job for a couple hours of work so he’ll work until the job’s done. Good hard working guys though! It does get hard to keep a positive perspective sometimes……

  3. Ahaha yes the redirected fury at the innocent husband. Been there done that and also been blessed by a return of love from him. Beautiful pictures of a beautiful family. I miss you.

Leave a comment