“……..Sons Vigorous and Tall as Growing Plants” Part 1

The other night it rained all night long. The sun shone bright the next morning and I sat on my front porch with a cup of coffee.  My boys were up, dressed in their cameo, BB guns slung over their shoulders. Up to greet the day…..I watch them go, up the hill, through the fresh green springtime that sparkles like jewels around them. The dog’s tail wags. They are happy. Half way up they stop suddenly, they spin around, guns drawn. Imaginary lassos  twirl wildly, a few minutes later the trouble is over and they calmly continue on their way. They are too far away for me to make out their words. It’s like I am watching a silent film, one which captures the wholesome goodness of little boys.

But, alas, I am a writer. This moment has captured my heart and my mind. Everything else is forgotten and with teary eyes and a full heart I watch my boys meander their way up the hill to the woods beyond and out of sight. And I love them.

I have folders and notebooks and journals full of writings. Moments of time, when my heart is so full that it hurts, and lest I cease living I must write it down. From the tender new love of a wife, until now, scattered around, my heart is written on paper.

And so I sit with the sun on my face and I think about my sons. They are mysterious to me, I don’t try to understand them completely because they are little men in the makings. I leave that to Blue eyes. I hope they will grow up to be good men like their Father. I hope they will love the Lord and walk according to His word.

I don’t try to make them be “safe” and clean because I want them to be strong and vigorous like a tree. I hope they grow up and learn how to pray for and love a woman. I hope they love babies. I hope they will find purpose and pleasure in working hard and providing for those they love.

My oldest son turned nine last fall. He is finishing up his early elementary education. His father and I have taught him at home and we are so very happy with the fruit we are seeing!  Before he started school, his two older sisters were educated with a curriculum in a box, very much “school at home” type of thing. When it came time for us to begin his formal education, though, my heart was led in a different direction.

In celebration of his completion of third grade I thought it would be fun to do a series of blogs on my thoughts on educating my sons. I hope you will be inspired over the next couple of weeks as I share some of my heart and wisdom I have gleaned as I have endeavored to raise these guys in the nurture and admonition of the Lord.

“For the fear of the Lord is the beginning of wisdom: and the knowledge of the Holy One is understanding.” Proverbs 9:10Image

4 thoughts on ““……..Sons Vigorous and Tall as Growing Plants” Part 1

  1. Again I am so in ahh, you write so well, I know the feelings you feel about schooling, having Levi with all his learning problems a teach life skills and the word of God, Keeping you and yours in prayer love and God bless your sister in Christ and your sister in law on earth.

  2. Oh Emmy! My heart leapt at the phrase: “Moments of time, when my heart is so full that it hurts, and lest I cease living I must write it down.” I so get that! I, too, have books and scattered papers with my heart scribbled on them! We come from a family of writers, and I love that blogging is letting us see that in all of us. These posts I am going to follow closely, because I just know my boy will not sit like the girls have for school!

Leave a Reply

