A Note to Single Moms

Dear Single Mom, When I woke up this morning I was thinking about you. I have to say I haven’t really thought about you before because I never really knew your face, I hadn’t heard your voice and I had never seen your tears. But now I have. And I hurt for you. I prayed for you this morning.

I lay in my bed beside Blue eyes and I told him about you and the burden you carry. Together we brought your name before the Lord. Together we wondered how life can get so tough. We thought how once there was a wedding and you were the bride and your heart was full of hope and dreams. This was never supposed to happen. But it did.

I thought about your babies and I cried because God never meant it to be this way. I thought how I wish I could take the pain and confusion away from them. From you. But I can’t.

I felt the anger and hopelessness because you can’t make a grown up do what they refuse to do. Even when it’s the right thing. You can scream, beg, shake them and still they are free to make the wrong choice. Even God won’t make anyone choose the right.

Yet still………..can hope be sad and desperate? Can hope be resolute and aching? Then there is hope. I felt that too.

There is a Father who is always good, always faithful, always right, never changing. He is the one who has promised to be the father to the fatherless and a husband to the widow. Or the husbandless.

It matters not what has been yesterday because His mercies are new every morning. His word is full of promises for THIS good day. And this day may be hard but this day can be good. His compassions they fail not.

Dear Mom, make it your life’s mission to introduce your kids to this Father. You will find him in his word. At first he may seem hidden there but keep looking and you will find him. All of his beautiful promises are there for you and for your children. Your kids will be safe there. Some days it won’t seem like it but we sow in hope and in his good time God will give the increase.

It won’t cost you a cent because we can all drink of the water of life freely. Read the Bible to your kids, pray with them every day and bring them to church regularly. Sow in hope, Mom, God’s word will bear fruit in their lives. It will. Because he who has promised is faithful. Even if you are too tired, weary, and discouraged to do anything else positive in their lives, if you do this they’ll be OK.

God has a special place in his heart for Mothers. Isaiah 40 says,”Behold, the Lord God will come with a strong hand, and his arm shall rule for him: behold, his reward is with him, and his work before him. He shall feed his flock like a shepherd: he shall gather the lambs in his arm and carry them in his bosom, and he shall gently lead those that are with young.” These promises are for you, single Mom.

Sometimes we might think that we can’t come to God unless we are “good”. But we can always come to God just the way we are. Our hurt, anger, fear, confusion and doubt are never too big for God. Remember that he has come “to bind up the brokenhearted, set the captives free and bring light to those who sit in darkness and in the shadow of death.”

I can’t know exactly how you feel but I do know that you are a woman just like me. We love our kids, we hope and fear. We love what is good and hate evil. We sometimes in desperation call out to God, “God, are you there? Do you see me? Do you know where I am?” And we find in his word that he is there, that he is a God who sees, who loves, who redeems, who is exceedingly long suffering. We see that is a repairer of the breech and the one who lays new foundations.

Single Mom, know that I prayed for you today. I prayed for those of you who’s tears I know and those who’s face I have never seen. I prayed for you and your children. The ones who are confused and hurting. And God heard. He loves you today and through Him I love you too. My he bless your path today. May you feel him with you today.

7 thoughts on “A Note to Single Moms

  1. Having been raised in a family with a single Mother, my heart is always pulled toward them. They wouldn’t want it this way. They and their children (me) walk through this journey alone. As Believers we have such an opportunity to reach out and BE His hands, His feet, His arms and truly help them see His love. BTW: Happy “Single Parent’s Day” today.

  2. so beautifully said. Sometimes when God jerks us out of our comforting bubble we can really see the pain. God bless you dear single momma. He is the Father we ALL need to cling to! Love you Em.

  3. Thank you, Emmy…I have done the best I could and most of it alone, even when my husband was in my home. It’s a hard and brutal place to walk and you are so right, we can’t make a grown up do what they are supposed to do, no matter how hard we try. And that is a hurt that never goes away. But a Father who will always love our kids even more than we do?! That I can rest in, He will never reject or walk away or make my “babies” cry. Keep us in your prayers!

  4. Emmy, I reread this sweet note this morning while praying for women still embroiled in the battle of life alone. Your prayers blessed me today like they did then. The first time I read this I sobbed as the crushing weight on my heart was lessened. Today I am just grateful for tender hearts that respond the stirring of the Spirit and can be moved to compassion. For encouragement. For friendship. I appreciate you being present in my life. God is good and I once again have love in my life and someone to hold my hand through the ups and downs. Thank you for your heart.

Leave a Reply

