In Honor of The Sanctity Of Human Life- Before I Formed Thee In the Womb

Image“Before I formed thee in the womb I knew thee; and before thou camest forth from the womb I sanctified thee, and ordained thee a prophet unto the nations.” Jer 1:5

* This is a slightly edited note that I shared on facebook once. I thought about these things today because I am horrified at the violent, barbaric act of abortion. But abortion would not be legal now had the wide spread acceptance of birth control not preceded it!*

I was thinking tonight about when life begins, does it begin like so many in our culture believe when a baby has been delivered from the womb and is free and independent of it’s mother’s body? Does it begin at conception, when a sperm and egg have met and safely implanted into the uterus? Or does it begin in the heart and mind of the creator? If an artist were to create a master piece where would we say it originated? If we tore up his canvas and destroyed his brushes can you imagine his frustration at having this desire to create and seeing his lovely creation in his minds eye but being unable to ever form it and see it become a reality?

My husband and I spent a season of our lives thinking and praying about this very  thing. We didn’t want to feel trapped, having many children whom we didn’t appreciate or know how to care for properly. We also didn’t want to be deceived by the culture and an ungodly world view. We could not seem to get away from the verses that say that God knew us before we were even formed,(Psalm 139:16) or even while we were still in our father’s loins (Hebrews 7:9,10). That people are His creation, that it wasn’t about our physical bodies but rather our willingness to serve as a vessel for the Lord to create a living soul, a child that He would give us the wisdom and grace to care for if we were willing to trust Him. As far as providing for their physical needs we believed the promises that He cares even for the sparrows and that He has yet to see the righteous forsaken or his seed begging for bread. We had the testimony of our fathers as well, who are honest hard working men. They did not have college degrees or an earthly inheritance with which to raise us but they trusted in the Lord and although my husbands parents had 16 children and mine had 15 we never lacked anything we needed. In fact, my Dad just told me a while ago that he is happy to say that God has taken perfect, immaculate care of his family!

My children and I were talking tonight about the Israelites in the land of Egypt and how God multiplied them so greatly that Pharaoh was afraid and ordered the midwives to kill the boy babies. But the midwives would not obey and despite what the Egyptians did to them God blessed the Israelites with health and children. Then I was thinking of all the blessings of the Lord through out the old testament and how many times when He talked to His children He promised them that if they would obey Him He would bless them with fruitful wombs. (Deut. 7:12-16, Isaiah 49:19,20, Jer. 31:27 and 33:21, Ezekiel 36:10 and 36:37-38, Zach 2:4) Just to name a few. Also if you look up barrenness you will see that it was a curse on the people.

I think it is sad that so many believers have taken a curse upon themselves and turned away God’s blessing. What if the Israelites had thought, ” This life is too horrible. I mean we are slaves! We better figure out a way to prevent pregnancy.” Then God would not have had His large, healthy, victorious people to lead out of Egypt! I’m going to be like the Egyptian midwives. I am going to disobey the wisdom of this world that tells me that God’s blessing is a curse and that says that I should destroy the seed of my husband. That I should prevent future generations from even existing! Instead I’m going to ask God to bless me and my children and, if the world stands, my children’s children with fruitful wombs and hearts that would see God’s gifts as good!

A while ago I heard one of our ministers read from Psalm 127 and he said that he had done a word study on verse three. He said that the word heritage in this verse means an heirloom, something precious and valuable that we would pass on from generation to generation. Isn’t that beautiful? “Except the Lord build a house, they labor in vain that build it: Except the Lord keep a city, the watchmen waketh but in vain…….Lo, children are an HERITAGE of the Lord and the fruit of the womb is his reward. As arrows in the hand of the mighty man, so are the children of the youth. Happy is the man that has his quiver full of them: they shall not be ashamed, but they shall speak with the enemy in the gate.”

If you have never considered birth control from a spiritual stand point I ask you as a sister in Christ to prayerfully and earnestly search the Word for your answers. I would also recommend that you read Nancy Campbell’s book ‘Be Fruitful and Multiply’. It is full of scripture and it is so freeing to know that you are in the will of the Father.  All of my love and good will, Emmy

Leave a Reply

